FAQs

Real Property FAQs

Real Property/Assessment

1. How should I prepare for my Informal Review?

You should determine what you believe to be the value of your property and gather evidence to support that value. Present all such evidence to the Assessment Department through the online Informal Review application or through email after you’ve spoken to an Assessment Department representative at 816-881-4601. Such evidence could include photographs, the recent sale of your property and/or a recent appraisal of your property. Documents might include a recent appraisal, sale contract, closing statement, photos, estimate for repairs, a statement of construction cost (if recently built) and/or comparable sales (if recently bought/sold). As part of the initial Informal Review process you should be prepared to electronically transmit all such documents to the Assessment Department.
Please view your different options to appeal your assessment.

2. What are assessment and reassessment?
Assessment is the process of placing value on property for the purpose of property taxation. Reassessment is an update of all real property assessments in the County, conducted by the County Assessment Department to equalize values among taxpayers and to adjust values to current market conditions.
3. How often is property reassessed?
Real property is reassessed every odd-numbered year (2015, 2017, 2019, 2021, etc.). Personal property is assessed every year.
4. Why does Jackson County reassesses real estate property every 2 years?
Missouri Law requires all real property to be reassessed every 2 years in odd-numbered years like 2019 and 2021. The Assessor must establish the fair market value of property as of January 1st of the reassessment year.
5. Why is reassessment necessary?
Under Missouri’s Constitution, all assessments for property tax purposes must be based upon market value and be uniform within the same class and subclass of property.
Over time, the value of property may change, depending upon its nature, location and other factors. Some values change more rapidly than others. Reassessment is the only way to be sure that each taxpayer is being taxed fairly, and that their property is taxed the same as other comparable property.
6. What is market value?
Market value, true value in money and appraised value have the same meaning under Missouri law. A simple definition of market value is the price the property would bring when offered for sale by a person who is willing but not obligated to sell it, and is bought by a person who is willing but not obligated to purchase it.
7. How is my assessment level established?
Once the estimate of market value has been determined, the Assessor calculates a percentage of that value to arrive at assessed value. The percentage is based on the classification, determined by the type of property or how it is used.

Real Estate Percentages

Residential: 19%
Agricultural: 12%
Commercial & all other: 32%

Personal Property Percentages

Cars, Boats & other: 33.333%
Farm Equipment & Livestock: 12%
Historic Autos: 5%
Grain: 0.5%

8. Will all property values change due to reassessment?
All values will not necessarily change and not all changes will be at the same rate. Market values increase more in some areas than in others. A major purpose of reassessment is to make sure that the new values reflect all changes that have occurred.
9. Will I be notified if there is an increase in my assessment?
The Assessor is required by state statutes to notify the owner of record of any increase in the valuation of real property.
10. How do I know what my house is worth?
Most people have a sense of the market values in their area from talking to friends and neighbors. You may also want to use the tax search capabilities on our website to review like properties and sales information, or get assistance from our taxpayer assistance unit.
11. How do you arrive at the land value?
Land value is based on a comparison of sales in the neighborhood or in similar areas.
12. Can I appeal in a non-reassessment year?
Yes, you can file an appeal to the Board of Equalization. However, since reassessment happens every 2 years, the economic conditions as of January 1 of the reassessment year (previous odd-numbered year) apply to all appeals. That means; even if the real estate market went down after January 1 of the reassessment year, it may not have an impact on the value of your property.
13. Will political subdivisions lower their levies?
When the total assessed valuation in a political subdivision increases substantially, as often happens with a reassessment, the political subdivision is allowed an increase in revenues to account for inflation, plus the revenues it receives from taxing new construction and improvements. Its governing body, after that, is required by the constitution to adjust tax rates downward. This is called a tax rate rollback. Jackson County has such a mandatory rollback. Local governments such as school districts, cities and counties each set their own levies. Most are subject to the rollback. The main exception is the Kansas City School District, which was made exempt from the rollback by a state constitutional amendment. The exact impact upon your individual tax bill cannot be calculated until this fall when state and local governments set their levies.
14. How does reassessment affect my taxes?
It depends. An increase in assessed value does not necessarily equate to a corresponding increase in property taxes. Assessed value and the combined levies of the taxing entities which levy a tax on that particular property are used to calculate your tax. If levies increase, taxes may increase even if assessed values remain unchanged or decrease. It follows that, if levies decrease, an increase in assessed values may not cause an increase in taxes. One factor which can cause a decrease in levies is a rollback which was discussed in the previous question and answer. Another is a voluntary reduction voted by the governing body.
An estimate of your taxes will be included in your reassessment notice.

The final tax levies are normally set during August. The final taxes due for your property cannot be determined until the rates have been set by all of the local governments that tax your property.

15. The value of my property went down, but my taxes stayed the same or went up. Why?
The amount of taxes you pay is made up of 2 components: the assessed value of your property and the tax rates set by your individual taxing jurisdictions, such as schools and fire districts. The Assessment Department is required by law to establish the fair market value of property as of January one of the reassessment year (every odd-numbered year; 2017, 2019, 2021, etc.). Taxing jurisdictions set their own rates according to their budgetary needs and voter approval. If property values in their district go down, then taxing jurisdictions may choose to roll up their rates to make up for the loss in value. Jackson County only sets its own rate (which is about 7% of your total tax amount). Jackson County has no control over the tax rates of other taxing jurisdictions.
16. Why are my taxes higher than last year?
Taxes are based on the assessed value of your property and the tax rates of the local taxing jurisdictions where the property is located. Tax rates are set each year by local taxing jurisdictions within the limits allowed under the constitution and state law. There may have been a change to the tax rate for your city or school district. If you made an improvement on your property the assessed value may have been increased.
17. Where can I find information about real estate tax abatement programs?
The KC Economic Development Corporation, or the City where your property is located. 

If you have questions about an active abatement on a property please call 816-881-1752 or email SpecialAssessment@jacksongov.org

 

18. How do I apply for an exemption for my property?
Download instructions(PDF, 444KB) and application(PDF, 200KB) here and send to SpecialAssessment@jacksongov.org or mail to:
         ASSESSMENT DEPARTMENT
         ATTN: Exemptions
         415 East 12th Street, Ste. 1M
         Kansas City, Missouri 64106-2752

         Questions? Email Special Assessment or call 816-881-3483.

 

Real Estate Taxes

1. What are assessment and reassessment?
Assessment is the process of placing value on a property for the purpose of property taxation. Reassessment is an update of all real property assessments in the county, conducted by the county assessor to equalize values among taxpayers and to adjust values to current market conditions.
2. How often is property reassessed?

Real property is reassessed every odd-numbered year (2017, 2019, 2021, etc.) Personal property is assessed every year.

3. Why are my taxes higher than last year?
Taxes are based on the assessed value of your property and the tax rates of the local taxing entities where the property is located. Tax rates are set each year by local taxing entities within the limits allowed under the constitution and state law. There may have been a change to the tax rate for your city or school district. If you made an improvement on your property the assessed value could have been increased.
4. Where can I find out about real estate tax abatement programs?
The KC Economic Development Corporation, or the City where your property is located. 

If you have questions about an active abatement on a property please call 816-881-1752 or email SpecialAssessment@jacksongov.org

 

5. How do I apply for an exemption for my property?
Download instructions(PDF, 444KB) and application(PDF, 200KB) here and send to SpecialAssessment@jacksongov.org or mail to:
ASSESSMENT DEPARTMENT
         ATTN: Exemptions
         415 East 12th Street, Ste. 1M
         Kansas City, Missouri 64106-2752

         Questions? Email Special Assessment or call 816-881-3483.

 

New Purchaser/Seller Information

New Tax Bills

The new owner/buyer has the responsibility for paying the total tax bill by December 31. Generally, taxes are prorated between the buyer and seller. If this is being done, a proportionate amount of the estimated tax amount is credited to the buyer at the time of sale based on the number of months/days the seller owned the property during the tax year. If the buyer receives extra money at closing or loan settlement, it is recommended the buyer verify if those funds are for the payment of future taxes.

Generally, no money is paid to the Collector for taxes at the time of sale. However, a closing company as part of the sales transaction may pay any taxes currently due if known.

  • You will have real estate property taxes to pay each year you own the property.
  • Taxes are levied annually and due upon receipt. After December 31, interest, penalties and fees will apply.

A tax bill may be generated in the previous owner's (seller's) name and mailed to their mailing address unless the purchaser advises the Jackson County Assessor's office of the change in property ownership and mailing address. If you do not receive a real estate tax statement from the Jackson County Collector by December 10, contact the Collector's office at 816-881-3232 or Collections@jacksongov.org

Certified City Assessments

Special Assessments

Some cities in Jackson County submit special city assessments to Jackson County to be added to your real estate tax bills. These city special assessments may arise from a variety of reasons such as the clearing of overgrown or noxious weeds, the demolition of a dangerous building, the maintenance of sidewalks or sewers, etc.

The special assessment charge on your tax bill is due as all other taxes on your real estate bill by December 31. The bill will be considered delinquent if paid after December 31. All applicable interest and penalties will apply to delinquent payments.

Jackson County does not determine the validity of a city’s special assessment claim. If you disagree with a city’s special assessment charge, please contact the city assessing said charge.

Personal Property FAQs

Personal Property Tax

1. What type of property is considered taxable personal property?
The following types of personal property are considered taxable: motor vehicles, trailers, mobile homes, watercraft, boat motors, aircraft, livestock, farm machinery and equipment, and any other personal property not exempted by law. There may be circumstances when a mobile home may be considered real property and not personal property. For more information, contact the Assessment Department.
2. I don't own this vehicle anymore, why am I getting a bill on it?
Taxes are assessed on property owned on January 1 each year. Even if you no longer own the vehicle, own a different vehicle, or no longer own any vehicle, the tax is based on what was owned on January 1. The tax amount is not prorated. The total tax amount is due upon receipt of the statement, but no later than December 31 or interest, penalties, and fees will be assessed.
3. Do I have to pay my taxes in person?

No, you may mail your payment (payable to Jackson County Collector), pay in person at one of the County’s Collection Department Offices or our satellite offices, or you may also pay your property taxes online 24 hours a day. Please note that the online payment website will close at 11 p.m., December 31.

Jackson County Courthouse
415 E 12th Street Suite 100
Kansas City, MO 64106

Historic Truman Courthouse
112 W Lexington Suite 114
Independence, MO 64050

Both courthouses are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays observed by Jackson County.

Pay Taxes Online

4. When are my taxes due?
Under state law taxes are due upon receipt of the tax bill but no later than December 31. Interest, penalties and fees will accrue if payment is late.

For payments made by mail to be on time, the U.S. postal service postmark date must be December 31 or earlier. To ensure your mailed payment is timely, contact the Post Office to determine the office hours for mail postmark. Payments placed in Post Office Mail drop boxes do not always receive the same day postmark. The collector’s office highly recommends mailing several days before the December 31 deadline. You can read more on our Tax Deadline Information page.
5. I need to license a car not included on my paid tax receipt. What do I do?
If you bought your car after January one of last year, use last year's receipt. Property taxes are not owed on a vehicle new to you until you've owned it on January 1. If you owned the vehicle on January one of last year and it is not listed on your receipt, or is incorrect on your receipt or statement, please contact the Assessment Department.
6. I am no longer a Missouri resident. Do I still owe this tax bill?
Yes. Under state law, your tax obligation is established on January 1. Even if you move to a different state the next day, you are still taxed as if you owned the vehicle for the entire year. The tax bill is not pro-rated. The entire amount is due. However, if you move into Missouri on January 2, you are not taxed for that year.
7. I am renewing 2-year license plates. Which years’ personal property tax receipts do I need?

If you were assessed and paid taxes in Jackson County for the prior two years, you need the prior two years’ receipts. If you were assessed in another Missouri County, you should contact that county for copies of that county’s receipts. If you cannot locate your Jackson County tax receipt for the appropriate year, to reprint your Official Paid Tax Receipt use the Property Search application.

8. I have lost my personal property tax receipt. How do I obtain a duplicate?

To obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt for free, use the Property Search application

9. I have moved. Do I need to let you know my new address?
Yes. We mail bills to the address on file. Every year mail is returned by the Post Office as undeliverable because the forwarding time has expired. Interest, penalties and fees will accrue and are due if the bill is not paid before January 1, whether or not the bill is received by the taxpayer. Simply notifying the post office or the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles of your new mailing address is not sufficient to insure a change to your county tax account. You may update your address by visiting the Assessment Department or by mailing a completed change of address form(PDF, 17KB).
10. Why is my tax bill so high?
The amount of tax you owe is based on the assessed value of the tangible personal property you owned on January one of that year and the levy rates provided by the political subdivisions (example, school districts, city, fire district, etc.) in which you reside. The higher the assessed value, the higher the amount due will be. Additional fees such as city sticker fees or late declaration filing fees may also appear in your bill total. The value of the property is determined by the county assessor using standardized information. The assessed value of your vehicles and other property is listed on your tax bill.

Your personal property tax is calculated by dividing the assessed value of the property by 100, and then multiplying that value by the levy rate for your area:

Personal Property Tax = (Assessed Value/100) x (Levy Rate)

The Collection Department cannot lower your assessed value, levy rate or tax bill amount.
11. How do I avoid paying late fees?
Your payment must be received by the collector or postmarked no later than December 31. Interest, penalties and fees will accrue if payment is late. Online payment is late if made after the online payment website closes at 11 p.m., December 31. Online payment is not made until the online payment transaction is completed. Payment by mail will be late if postmarked after December 31. Late payment must include interest, penalties and fees as accrued for the month of payment. Additional interest, penalty and fee charges will accumulate on the first of each month beginning January 1 until the bill is paid in full.

When taxes are not paid in a timely manner, Missouri law requires the Collector to impose penalty, fee and interest charges additional to the base tax. Historically, some delinquent taxpayers have requested waivers for these additional charges. Please be advised that the Jackson County Collector does not waive penalties, interest or fees resulting from late payment by a taxpayer.

If you believe your payment was made timely and that late charges were therefore assessed in error please mail documentation necessary to support your belief to the Collection Department.
12. What items do I take with me to renew my license plates?
You will need:
- Paid personal property tax receipt(s) or statement of non-assessment as requested by the Department of Revenue
- Motor vehicle inspection slip, if required
- Proof of insurance
- Title or renewal notice, if applicable

For more information, visit the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
13. I have a city sticker fee listed on my tax bill. What is this fee?
There are 7 cities that charge a city sticker fee for autos, truck and cycles within their city limits.
14. I did not owe personal property taxes last year in Jackson County. How can I obtain my license plates?
The Motor Vehicle Bureau will accept a non-assessment form in place of a paid property tax receipt. This form states that you were neither assessed nor owe taxes in Jackson County. You may obtain a non-assessment form from the Assessment Department if:
- You are new to the state of Missouri
- You are licensing the first vehicle in your name
- You do not have personal property tax obligation to any Missouri county

For additional information, contact the Assessment Department.
15. I recently moved to Jackson County from another state and have never paid personal property tax in Missouri. What do I need to do?

New residents moving to the County from another state will need vehicle registrations from the previous 3 years through January one of the current year, and/or they can provide any combination of these documents showing an out-of-state address for the past 2 years through January 1:

  • Government ID
  • One of the vehicle documentation items below:
    • Title
    • Registration
    • One item for proof of “out of state” residence on January 1 of the previous year, from the list below. Please note that PO BOX addresses are not accepted for proof of residence.
      • Bank statement
      • Utility bill
      • Lease/mortgage statement
      • Credit card statement

 If you have questions, you will need to call 816-881-1330 or contact the Jackson County Assessment Department.

16. I recently moved to Jackson County from another county in Missouri. What do I need to do?

You will need these documents to license your vehicle:

  • Government ID
  • Tax receipt or waiver from your previous county
  • One of the vehicle documentation items below:
    • Title
    • Registration
    • Missouri license plate renewal card

It is important that you contact the Jackson County Assessment Department and let them know you are now a resident of Jackson County and need to be placed on the tax rolls.  If you have questions, you will need to call 816-881-1330 or email the Jackson County Assessment Department.

17. I lease my vehicle. Who pays the personal property taxes?
The leasing company is billed for personal property taxes on all vehicles it owned on January 1. Please check your lease agreement for additional information. Please do not add your leased vehicle to your personal property declaration as the leased vehicle is owned by the leasing company, not you as an individual taxpayer.
18. My leasing company pays my personal property taxes. What will I need to take to the license bureau?
You will need:
- Paid personal property tax receipt(s) listing the leased vehicle or statement of non-assessment as requested by the Department of Revenue
- Motor vehicle inspection slip, if required
- Proof of insurance
- Title or renewal notice, if applicable

For further information, visit the Missouri Department of Revenue website.

Vehicle Licensing

1. What items do I take with me to renew my license plates?
You will need:
- Paid personal property tax receipt(s) or statement of non-assessment as requested by the Department of Revenue
- Motor vehicle inspection slip, if required
- Proof of insurance
- Title or renewal notice, if applicable

For more information, visit the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
2. I am renewing 2-year license plates. Which years’ personal property tax receipts do I need?
If you were assessed and paid taxes in Jackson County for the prior 2 years, you need the prior 2 years’ receipts. If you were assessed in another Missouri County, you should contact that county for copies of that county’s receipts. If you cannot locate your Jackson County tax receipt for the appropriate year, to reprint your Official Paid Tax Receipt, visit the Property Search application.
3. I need to license a car not included on my paid tax receipt. What do I do?
If you bought your car after January one of last year, use last year's receipt. Property taxes are not owed on a vehicle new to you until you've owned it on January 1. If you owned the vehicle on January one of last year and it is not listed on your receipt, or is incorrect on your receipt or statement, please contact the Assessment Department or call 816-881-1330.
4. I recently moved to Jackson County from another state and have never paid personal property tax in Missouri. What do I need to do?
New residents moving to the County from another state will need vehicle registrations from the previous 3 years through January one of the current year, and/or they can provide any combination of these documents showing an out-of-state address for the past 2 years through January 1:
- Bank statements (P.O. Box addresses will not be accepted)
- Utility bills (indicating "service at" address)
- Lease agreement or mortgage payment statement
- Credit card statement (P.O. Box addresses will not be accepted)

If you have questions, you will need to call 816-881-1330 or contact the Jackson County Assessment Department.
5. I recently moved to Jackson County from another county in Missouri. What do I need to do?
You will need these documents to license your vehicle:
- Copy of tax receipts or waiver from the county you are moving from for the past two years
- Title, vehicle registration or renewal
- Missouri Application for Title and Title (If a new purchase, the back of the title must be properly completed

It is important that you contact the Jackson County Assessment Department and let them know you are now a resident of Jackson County and need to be placed on the tax rolls. Contact the Assessment Department for more information.
6. I did not owe personal property taxes last year in Jackson County. How can I obtain my license plates?
The Motor Vehicle Bureau will accept a non-assessment form in place of a paid property tax receipt. This form states that you were neither assessed nor owe taxes in Jackson County. You may obtain a non-assessment form from the Assessment Department if:
- You are new to the state of Missouri
- You are licensing the first vehicle in your name
- And you do not have personal property tax obligation to any Missouri county

For additional information, contact the Assessment Department or call 816-881-1330
7. My leasing company pays my personal property taxes. What will I need to take to the license bureau?
You will need:
- Paid personal property tax receipt(s) listing the leased vehicle or statement of non-assessment as requested by the Department of Revenue
- Motor vehicle inspection slip, if required
- Proof of insurance
- Title or renewal notice, if applicable

For further information or updates, visit the Missouri Department of Revenue website.

Mailing Address vs. Location

On your tax bill, personal property tax declaration or in reviewing your account online, you may notice there are references to "Mailing Address" and "Location" and you may not understand the differences in these labels.

Mailing Address

"Mailing Address" is simply where you have directed us to send communications, such as your tax bill or personal property declaration. Many times we obtain this address directly from the recorded deed of a piece of real property in the case of a real estate tax bill.

Location

"Location" refers to the physical location of a parcel of real estate or the location to which your personal property is assigned. Location will be the street address of your home, apartment, etc.

Database

Jackson County has been working with the cities to develop a true master address database with the benefit to ensure that taxes continue to be correctly taxed and then distributed to the proper jurisdiction. Cities in the County determine the addresses in their jurisdictions, while the County assigns address in the unincorporated areas.

Location Address Statements

When reviewing your account or documents, instead of the actual street address you feel is assigned to the property you may notice one of the following statements under the section marked Location Address:

Situa Verification in Progress

Situa Verification in Progress indicates the County is still attempting to determine the addressed assigned to a particular parcel of real estate.

No Address Provided by the Taxpayer

No address provided by the taxpayer indicates the taxpayer has not informed the County of a verifiable address to which their personal property can be found. The taxpayer can provide this information in the space provided on their yearly personal property tax declaration which will be mailed in mid January.

No Address by City

No address assigned by city indicates the city has not assigned a street address to a particular parcel of real estate / personal property or has not provided an assigned address to the County.

No Address by County

No address assigned by County indicates the County's Public Works Department has not assigned an address to a particular parcel of real estate / personal property in an unincorporated area of the County.

Questions or Concerns

If there are concerns about the address on your property, you may contact the GIS Department at GIS@jacksongov.org or 816-881-4561. The GIS Department will communicate with your city to determine what the address should be and make changes if they are necessary.

Military Personnel

All military personnel whose home of record is Jackson County are taxable in Jackson County, regardless of their duty station. However, relief to persons engaged in active military service in a military conflict in which reserve components have been called to active duty is provided for by the Missouri statutes.

Military Conflict Relief

Any person with an obligation for property tax on personal or real property who is performing such military service or a spouse of such person owning property jointly shall be granted an extension to pay any obligation until 180 days after the completion of such military service or continuous hospitalization as a result of such military service and shall be allowed to pay such tax without penalty or interest if paid within the 180-day period.

The failure to pay such tax within the 180-day period after the completion of such military service or continuous hospitalization as a result of such military service shall result in no waiver of interest and penalty resulting from military service.

Relief Guidelines

If at the time of becoming engaged in active military service in a military conflict, the military taxpayer already owed a past due tax obligation accruing interest and penalties, said obligation and interest and penalties shall be stayed for 180-days following the completion of the active military service in an active military conflict. Once past this 180-day period, the previously stayed obligation shall resume at the same debt and interest and penalties as if there had been no military relief.

To qualify for the relief granted, active military personnel as described above must present to the Jackson County Collection Department, an official order from the appropriate military authority as evidence of such military service.