Merit System


To review operation of the County employee merit system and recommend policies for its operation. Also, hears and decides appeals and disciplinary actions.


  • The County Executive appoints this five-member commission.
  • Commissioners must be Jackson County residents, and they shall not hold any other public or political office.
  • Commissioners must be in sympathy with the merit system of public employment.
  • No more than three commissioners can be from the same political party.


Member Term Expires
Kirk H. Doan Dec. 31, 2026
Rosie Johnson Dec. 31, 2023
Venessa J. Maxwell-Lopez Dec. 31, 2024
Bryan D. VanOsdale Dec. 31, 2025
Kerrie Lindberg Dec. 31, 2025