County Communities

Jackson County is home to unique communities - each with its own personality, government officials and amenities.

Blue Springs

Blue Springs is one of the fastest growing communities in the 10 county metropolitan area. With a population of 50,000 and growing, this thriving community is a choice location for families who enjoy being close to nature and just 20 minutes from downtown Kansas City, Missouri.


Known as the "Little Village in the Valley" Buckner offers residents and businesses suburban simplicity just east of Independence and north of Grain Valley.

Grain Valley

The town of Grain Valley was officially formed September 5, 1878 and was named for the abundance of grain in the area and the geography of the land.


Grandview is a dynamic town just minutes south of bustling Kansas City. It was here in Grandview on his family's farm where President Harry S. Truman first started his journey into a life of public service. With its small-town atmosphere and long history of active community leaders, Grandview is able to offer its 25,000 residents all the benefits and convenience of a diverse city.


With a population of 1,505, Greenwood is a suburban community made up of approximately 500 families.


Rich with heritage and providing an exceptional quality of life, Independence, Missouri is a vision of opportunity for visitors and residents alike.

Kansas City, Missouri

From humble beginnings as a trading post in 1821, Kansas City has become the largest city in a metropolitan area of 1.8 million people. Kansas City is the nation's 36th largest city in population (441,500) and the eighth largest in land area (317 square miles).

Located near the geographic and populations centers of the nation, it truly is the "Heart of America."

Lake Lotawana

The population of Lake Lotawana is approximately 2,141. With its 1,123 families wrapped around a beautiful lakefront, it's a favorite location for those who love peace and solitude.

Lake Tapawingo

A small community of 761 residents, Lake Tapawingo is just one of five lakes located in eastern Jackson County.

Lee's Summit

Lee’s Summit, the third-largest city in Missouri based on geographic size, also prides itself on being family friendly. Besides the award-winning schools, the area is rife with lakes, outdoor parks, public libraries, and year-round youth athletic and non-athletic activities. Its strong heritage endures as the city steadily blossoms into a beautiful suburb supporting more than 86,000 residents. Lee's Summit is now spreading its wings as the city "Where Quality Comes to Life."


With a population of 108, Levasy offers a small town lifestyle. Levasy, Missouri is approximately 25 miles east of Kansas City, Missouri on U.S. Highway 24.

Lone Jack

With a population of 528, residents of the small town of Lone Jack enjoy the peace of living in Kansas City's metropolitan community.

Oak Grove

Oak Grove is located 28 miles east of Kansas City on I-70, retaining a small town atmosphere in a rural setting, yet convenient to the larger metropolitan interests. The city was incorporated in 1878 and has a rich local history that is evident in the architecture of the downtown areas.


Raytown is centrally located within the western half of Jackson County, Missouri.
Interstate 435 (north and south) is located approximately 1 mile west of Raytown. Interstate 70 (east and west) is located 2 miles north of Raytown.

River Bend

City of River Bend
3923 N Cobbler Road
River Bend, MO 64058


The population of Sibley is approximately 367. Its 129 families enjoy the lifestyle afforded them by living in a rural community of Jackson County.

Sugar Creek

Nestled in the suburban area of Kansas City, Missouri, Sugar Creek offers all the charm of a small town with all the advantages of a big city location. Here you will find neighbors who care for each other, a progressive and accessible city government and a vibrant business community. In short, it is a special place where life is a little sweeter.

Unity Village

With just 138 residents, Unity Village is one of Jackson County's smallest of 19 communities.