Kansas City Area Transportation Authority


To provide reliable and affordable transit services to all residents in and visitors to the metropolitan area.


  • This is a five-member commission.
  • The County Executive appoints one member.
  • The city of Kansas City appoints one member.
  • Each commissioner must be a qualified voter in Missouri.
  • Each commissioner must reside in the district established by compact and within the county or city from which appointed.
  • The Jackson County appointee must be a resident of a city, town or village within the county that has a contract for revenue with the KCATA, but not a resident of Kansas City.
  • No commissioner shall have a direct or indirect financial interest in any property acquired by the KCATA.


Jackson County Appointee Term expires
Byron Craddolph Dec. 31, 2026