Domestic Violence Shelters


To administer the fees collected pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 87 of the Jackson County Code and Section 488.445 of the Missouri Revised Statues.


  • The County Executive appoints this five-member board. No more than one member from any County Legislative District may serve at one time.
  • Members must be Jackson County residents and hold no other County office.
  • At least two members must possess substantial experience in working in domestic violence shelters, but may not be an officer, director or employee of any shelters for victims of domestic violence.


Members District
Term Expires
Jennifer J. von Fintel 1 Sept. 30, 2020
Melba Curls
Sept. 30, 2019
Tonya Hampton 3 Sept. 30, 2021
Teresa Chu 4 Sept. 30, 2021