Public Employee Recognition Day Awards

Published on May 07, 2024


Jackson County joined the Federal Executive Board and the city of Kansas City, Missouri in honoring public employees during the 31st Annual Public Employees Recognition Day, Tuesday, May 7, 2024, at the Bartle Hall Grand Ballroom.

The county presented awards to associates in 10 categories during the ceremony. County Executive Frank White, Jr., presented the awards along with Chief Administrative Officer Sylvya Stevenson.

“Public service is a noble calling,” White said. “The dedication and hard work of public employees are the foundation of our community's success. Each day, our public servants show unwavering commitment, professionalism, and compassion in their roles. They are the backbone of our organization, and their efforts often go unnoticed. Today, we take the opportunity to express our gratitude and appreciation for their invaluable service.”

“Let us remember the countless ways in which our public employees make a positive impact on the lives of others. They exemplify the spirit of community and serve as a powerful reminder of the impact of selfless service to others,” he said.

“I extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the awardees for your remarkable contributions. May your accomplishments inspire everyone here today to strive for even greater heights in the days ahead. Thank you for your service, and may we continue to work together to build a brighter future for all,” White said.

Those awarded by the county were:

  • Lesley Carpenter – Distinguished Administrative Professional Service Award
  • Brian Nowotny – Distinguished Community Service Award
  • Kiva Hill – Distinguished Diversity Award
  • Holly Cass – Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Terri Jones-McMillan – Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Matthew Lewis – Distinguished Public Safety Award
  • Facilities Maintenance Division-Custodial Team – Distinguished Team Award
  • Dan Hefley – Distinguished Technical Award
  • Facilities Management-Operating Engineers – Trade/Craft Award
  • Corrections Staff members – Distinguished Valor Award