Legislature Selects New Leaders for 2022

Published on January 10, 2022

2022 Legislative Chairs

Charlie Franklin was selected to lead the Jackson County Legislature as Chairman in 2022 and Theresa Cass Galvin was named Vice-Chair during the Legislature’s first meeting of the new year.

This will be Franklin’s first time to serve as chair. He was elected to represent the 3rd District in 2018. He is a Certified Public Accountant in private practice in Independence and is a lifelong resident of the 3rd District. In the past, Franklin has served as Chairman as well as Advisor for the Jackson County Board of Equalization.

Franklin sees the largest obstacle to overcome for 2022 is going to be the pandemic. He said his goals for the year to try and get the jail going, to work with the administration and get everyone on the legislature to work together.

“When I was in grade school my teachers often told my parents that I played well with all of the other children, so I hope I’m not naive in hoping that we can do that here,” he said.

Galvin was elected to represent the 6th District in 2014 and again in 2018. She served as Legislative Chair in 2019 and 2020. She also served as Vice-Chair in 2016.


Tagged as: