State Vehicle Requirements
Vehicle licensing and titling is handled by the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Taxpayers should direct questions regarding licensing and titling to the DOR or to local motor vehicle branch offices.
Among other things, the State DOR will require that you provide a copy of your paid personal property tax receipt or statement of non assessment (Clearance) before being allowed to license or renew a vehicle registration. If you are seeking to renew your vehicle tags for a 2-year period, you will need to present paid receipts for the prior 2 tax years.
To obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt for free online, visit the Online Property Search program.
Or, you may obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt from our offices. There is a $1 fee for each duplicate receipt.
To allow online renewal of your vehicle registration at the DOR website, Jackson County provides the DOR with paid personal property tax information for the last two tax years electronically twice per week. Currently, the County provides that file to the DOR during the first business day of the week, and again mid-week. As a result, if you pay your taxes after one of the submissions of this file to the DOR, your tax payment will not be reflected in DOR records until the next submission.
For example, if the County provides the information to the DOR on Wednesday, and you pay your taxes on Thursday, the DOR will not have your paid records until the County submits its new file the following Monday. Therefore, you will not be able to renew your vehicle registration online until the paid file is received and loaded by the DOR. If you are renewing your vehicle registration in person or by mail, you will still need to produce a printed copy of your paid tax receipt(s) or statement of non assessment.
The State DOR will not notify us of any new vehicles you purchase or of any addresses or name changes listed with the DOR.
Statements of Non-Assessment
Statements of non-assessment can be obtained from the Assessment Department. A non-assessment is issued to County residents when they have no personal property tax obligation to any county in Missouri for the prior year. This certificate is used in lieu of a paid personal property tax receipt when registering a vehicle or renewing license plates. no fee is charged for a certificate of non-assessment.
A taxpayer is presumed to owe taxes on property unless the taxpayer demonstrates qualification for a certificate of non-assessment. To obtain a certificate of non-assessment, contact the Jackson County Assessment Department, 816-881-1330.
Missouri Vehicle Sales Taxes
Missouri vehicle sales tax and County personal property tax are 2 different types of tax.
Missouri Sales Tax - A One-Time Tax
Sales Tax is paid to the State, usually at the Department of Motor Vehicles, when the vehicle is first purchased.
Personal Property Tax - A Yearly Tax
Personal property tax is paid to Jackson County by December 31 of every year on every vehicle you owned on January 1. If you obtain a 2 year license plate with the State, you are still responsible to pay personal property tax each year by December 31 or interest and penalty will be applied to your account. It is your responsibility to notify the County when you first move here or if there is a change to your account.