Due to large call volume you may experience a busy signal or no signal. We are aware of the issue and are working to fix it. Thank you for your patience and cooperation.
Are you getting married? Let us make it easy for you. You'll need to get married within 30 days of the license issuance. Follow the steps below!
You must apply for a marriage license before getting married in the State of Missouri. Once issued, you can contact a marriage officiant to perform the wedding ceremony.
NOTE: While you can submit your application online, you must still visit us IN PERSON at the County office to receive the license. Both applicants must be present.
Both of you need to present one of the following documents, which must be valid (e.g. not expired):
*NOTE: if you are 16 or 17 years old, you will need parent or guardian consent. The parent or guardian must be present to give consent at the time of the application and must present U.S. government-issued identification. If you are 16 or 17 years old you are prohibited from marrying anyone 21 years of age or older. If you are under the age of 15 you cannot get married in the State of Missouri.
The fee for applying for a marriage license is $50. Cash, credit (Discover, Visa or Mastercard) or debit card is accepted. This fee is non-refundable. There is a 2.75% bank processing fee if a debit or credit card is used.
Save time by starting your application online!
Historic Truman Courthouse
112 W Lexington
Independence, Missouri 64050
Once you get your license, the marriage ceremony must be held within the State of Missouri within 30 days of issuance. If not performed within 30 days, you will need to return the unused license and/or apply for a new license and pay new license fees. Congratulations!
Per Missouri Revised Statutes Section 451.100 the following are eligible to solemnize a marriage:
Once the marriage ceremony is completed the marriage officiant will sign and return the Marriage License to the Jackson County Recorder of Deeds Department within 15 days of the ceremony. The License will be retained by the Department for record preservation. Once returned “Certified Copies” of the license can then be obtained from our offices.
Although the Marriage License is preserved by the Department, the marriage officiant will provide the couple with a completed “Marriage Certificate.” Though “unofficial” for legal purposes, the Marriage Certificate does serve as a memorable “keepsake” that can be retained by the couple for their wedding records, wedding album, etc.
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except for legal holidays.