Loading
 
 DEPARTMENT MENU
     
 
Jackson County Public Works

Mobile Household Special 'ABOP' Collection Event April 19
Take this opportunity to properly dispose of hazardous waste like anti-freeze, batteries, motor oil and paint. 


Follow our progress on renovations to the Eastern Jackson County Courthouse in Independence.
Please use our convenient Maintenance Request Form to report problem areas in unincorporated Jackson County.
Use our convenient Maintenance Request Form to report problems in unincorporated areas.

County only accepts 
StateFoodSafety.com for online food handling permits.
Welcome to the award-winning Jackson County Public Works Department!

It's our job to care for your county home like you care for your personal home. We repair and maintain; we make sure businesses and citizens honor the codes; we cut back growth, clear unsightly weeds and plow the snow in the unincorporated area. We take care of your county government buildings, and plan for future growth. We're a "hands-on" department that takes pride in giving you, the citizen, a great place to live and work.

The Public Works division encompasses six lines of business: Administration, Development, Engineering, Environmental Health, Road and Bridge Maintenance and Facilities Management. Major responsibilities include project engineering and construction administration, building maintenance and repair, road and bridge repair, snow removal, planning, building permits, code enforcement, animal control, nuisance abatement, stormwater and environmental services including food inspection and sanitary sewer operation.

  • Administration
  • Board of Zoning Adjustment
  • Engineering
  • Facilities Management
  • Planning & Environmental Health
  • Plan Commission
  • Road & Bridge
  • Stormwater Commission
  • pubworks@jacksongov.org

    Jackson County Technology Center
    Administration, Engineering, and Planning Divisions
    303 W. Walnut St.              Independence, MO 64050                 (816) 881-4530


    Jackson County Courthouse
    Facilities Management Division
    415 E. 12th St., 3M
    Kansas City, MO 64106
    (816) 881-3258
    Leo E. Koehler
    Road Maintenance Facility

    Road & Bridge Maintenance and Environmental Health Divisions
    34900 E. Old U.S. 40 Hwy.
    Oak Grove, MO 64075
    (816) 847-7050 (Road & Bridge)       (816) 847-7073 (Environmental Health)

     

     

    Earl Newill, P.E.
    Acting Director of
    Public Works &
    Chief Engineer

    (816) 881-4538
    enewill@jacksongov.org

    Gwen Cogshell
    Operations Administrator (Administration)

    (816) 881-4499
    gcogshell@jacksongov.org


    Scott George
    Assistant Director

    (816) 847-7071 sgeorge@jacksongov.org

    Craig Mosher
    Administrator
    (Facilities Management)

    (816) 881-7050
    cmosher@jacksongov.org


    Jim Evans
    Administrator
    (Road & Bridge Division)

    (816) 847-7053
    jevans@jacksongov.org


    Administration

    Administration provides administrative support for all the divisions within Public Works, including technical support.

    Office: (816) 881-4449

    NAME TITLE  PHONE  E-MAIL 
    Gwendolyn Cogshell Operations Administrator  (816) 881-4449 gcogshell@jacksongov.org
    Joan Dickey Communications Liaison  (816) 881-4533  jdickey@jacksongov.org
    Ali Roohanirad Traffic/Maintenance Engineer  (816) 847-7054  aroohanirad@jacksongov.org


    Board of Zoning Adjustment

    Meets at:
    Independence City Hall
    Conference Room D, Ground Floor
    111 East Maple
    Independence, MO 64050

    > More Information


    Engineering

    The Engineering Division of the Department of Public Works provides engineering design and construction management for road and bridge replacement projects throughout Jackson County. The Road and Bridge Tax Fund, augmented with grants from the State and Federal government, is used to fund these programs.

    Office: (816) 881-4447

    NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
    Earl Newill

    Acting Director of Public Works
    Chief Engineer

    (816) 881-4538 enewill@jacksongov.org
    Ben Allen II Utilities / Construction Inspector (816) 847-7074 ballen@jacksongov.org
    Sam Davis         Project and Safety Coordinator         (816) 881-4466     sdavis@jacksongov.org 
    Glen Dvorak Civil Engineer I (816) 881-4499 gdvorak@jacksongov.org
    Chris Jenkins Civil Engineer I  (816) 881-4429  cjenkins@jacksongov.org
    Lyle Jones Project / Quality Control Inspector  (816) 847-7057  ljones@jacksongov.org
    John McClernon Civil Engineer I  (816) 881-4532  jmcclernon@jacksongov.org
    Martha Poe  Administrative Assistant  (816) 881-4447  mpoe@jacksongov.org
    Gary Russell  Building Inspector / Engineering Technician  (816) 881-4639  grussell@jacksongov.org
    Rodger Seidelman Professional Engineer  (816) 847-7055  rseidelman@jacksongov.org


    Facilities Management

    The Facilities Administrator is responsible for Jackson County's buildings, physical facilities and equipment. The Facilities Management Department is comprised of building repairers, operating engineers, plumbers, carpenters, painters, electricians, maintenance workers and supervisors all working together to make sure these buildings are safe and in good working order.

    Office: (816) 881-3258

    NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
    Craig Mosher

    Facilities Management Administrator

    (816) 881-7050 cmosher@jacksongov.org
    Gary Hayes Building Superintendent (816) 881-1615 ghayes@jacksongov.org
    Marilyn Scothorne Office Administrator (816) 881-3258 mscothorne@jacksongov.org


    Planning & Environmental Health

    Administrator: Scott George

    Phone: (816) 847-7071                                                                                                                            E-mail: sgeorge@jacksongov.org

    Environmental Health

    Environmental Health is responsible for permitting and inspecting the food establishments in the unincorporated area and those cities not in the corporate limits of Kansas City and Independence. They work with food establishments to ensure that employees that prepare, handle and dispense food receive training in safe and proper procedures for the handling of food so that food borne illnesses can be prevented. Jackson County offers an online food handler training course and also partners with the City of Independence for classroom food handler training. Environmental Health is also responsible for animal control and protection and overall code enforcement and nuisance compliance.

    NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
    Debbie Sees

    Public Health Supervisor

    (816) 847-7070 dsees@jacksongov.org
    Amanda Burch

    Public Health Specialist

    (816) 797-7198 aburch@jacksongov.org
    Mose Crockett

    Public Health Specialist

    (816) 810-7221 mcrockett@jacksongov.org
    Roger Harmon

    Public Health Specialist

    (816) 590-9231 rharmon@jacksongov.org
    Roderick Jackson Public Health Specialist (816) 225-9627 rjackson@jacksongov.org
    Ainsley Lackey

    Public Health Specialist II

    (816) 797-7184 alackey@jacksongov.org
    Kerri Moore Administrative Assistant (816) 847-7073 kmoore@jacksongov.org
    Reshana Peterson

    Public Health Specialist

    (816) 223-9769 rpeterson@jacksongov.org
    Steve Schnell Code Enforcement Officer (816) 881-4515 sschnell@jacksongov.org

    Planning & Development

    The Planning and Development Division is responsible for the administration and enforcement of planning, zoning and development, waste water quality control, flood plain management, building codes, and stormwater management in unincorporated Jackson County.

    Office: (816) 881-4649

    NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
    Randy Diehl

    Subdivision & Zoning Coordinator

    (816) 881-4577 rdiehl@jacksongov.org
    Kristen Geary     Administrative Assistant      (816) 881-4649 kgeary@jacksongov.org 
    Steve Schnell On-Site Wastewater Specialist (816) 881-4515 sschnell@jacksongov.org
    Marlon Southard Building Official (816) 881-4409 msouthard@jacksongov.org


    Plan Commission

    Meets at:
    Independence City Hall
    Conference Room D, Ground Floor
    111 East Maple
    Independence, MO 64050

    > More Information


    Road & Bridge

    The responsibility of the Road and Bridge Maintenance Division is to maintain a safe and effective roadway system for the motorists in the unincorporated parts of Jackson County.

    NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
    Jim Evans

    Road & Bridge Administrator

    (816) 847-7053 jevans@jacksongov.org
    Kirk Phillips Highway Maintenance Supervisor (816) 881-7052 kphillips@jacksongov.org
    Matt Willier Information Technology Specialist (816) 881-7083 mwillier@jacksongov.org


    Stormwater Commission

    Meets at:
    Fleming Hall
    21906 Woods Chapel Road
    Blue Springs, MO 64015

    > More Information

     

     

     
           
    red_spacer

    Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us | © 2008 Jackson County, Missouri

    Translate this page: