News Flash


Posted on: December 22, 2010

Federal Government Shows Support For Regional Transit

The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) announced on Tuesday, December 21 that Jackson County, in coordination with Kansas City, Missouri, the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority and the Mid-America Regional Council has received $1.8 million in competitive federal grants to study a regional transit system.

“I want to personally Mike Sanders
thank the numerous elected leaders, local governments, civic groups and citizens who have expressed their support for regional transit," said County Executive Mike Sanders. "Their continued leadership and vision will allow Jackson County and the Kansas City Metropolitan Area to move forward. This funding would not be possible without the support of the Missouri Congressional Delegation," said Sanders. "I want to thank Senator Claire McCaskill for her tireless work on this project along with her colleagues Kit Bond, Emanuel Cleaver, Ike Skelton and Sam Graves. Together they secured this funding for our community."

Three Corridors to be Studied

The grant funds will be used to study three corridors:

1. I-70 between downtown Kansas City and Odessa.

2. Rock Island Railroad between downtown Kansas City and Pleasant Hill.

3. Downtown Kansas City between the River Market and Union Station.

Jackson County has worked closely with TranSystems, a Kansas City engineering firm, on potential mass transit options for the region. Sanders and TranSystems Principal Jim Terry have given numerous presentations on transit to various elected officials, civic groups and government entities.

Project/Study Supporters

Without the support of the following partners this grant would not have been possible.

United States Senators and Representatives

•U.S. Sen. Christopher Bond (R-Mo.)
•U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.)
•U.S. Sen. Sam Brownback (R-Ks.)
•U.S. Rep Emanuel Cleaver II (D-Mo.)
•U.S. Rep. Ike Skelton (D-Mo.)
•U.S. Rep. Dennis Moore (D-Ks.)
Local Governments

•City of Blue Springs, Mo.
•City of Independence, Mo.
•City of Lee’s Summit, Mo.
•City of Raytown, Mo.
•Metropolitan Mayors’ Caucus (Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte counties)
•Eastern Jackson County Betterment Council
•Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kan.
Economic Development Agencies

•Downtown Council of Kansas City
•Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce
•International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW Local Union 124)
•Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce
•Partnership for Community Growth and Development (Liberty, Mo.)
•Three Trails Community Improvement District
Community Groups

•Fairlane Homes Association
•River Market Community Association
•Ruskin Heights Homes Association
•Ruskin Hills Homes Association
•Southern Communities Coalition
•Regional Transit Alliance
Jackson County Receives Third Largest Grant Amount

“Jim Terry’s knowledge and experience of the transportation industry is second to none,” said Sanders. “His ideas and passion are a major reason why mass transit has the potential to transform this region for our citizens.”

The FTA awarded $25.7 million in grants to communities in 15 states. Jackson County received the third largest grant amount, beating out cities including New York, Dallas and Nashville. $2 million was the maximum amount awarded. The agency reviewed 67 applications from 30 different states requesting a total of $73 million in funds.

The “Alternatives Analysis” is a necessary step in the process of applying for and receiving federal transportation dollars which lead to the construction of new transit systems.

Facebook Twitter Email