Animal Welfare Committee

Members Appointed Term Expires
Linda Humphrey Reappointed Feb. 1, 2018 Sept. 30, 2019
Cindy Marshall Reappointed Feb. 1, 2018 Sept. 30, 2019
Francis L. Spearman Feb. 1, 2018 Sept. 30, 2019


The committee is charged with, among other things:

  • Promoting spay and neuter programs for household pets
  • Supporting educational programs that promote the welfare and safety of animals
  • Hearing complaints regarding abuse or cruelty to animals, when in the committee's opinion, such complaints have not been satisfactorily address by any applicable enforcement or animal welfare agency
  • Investigating charges of unethical treatment of animals.


  • Jackson County and the City of Independence form the committee.
  • The committee is comprised of five members serving two-year terms.
  • The Jackson County Executive appoints three members and Independence Mayor two members.