County Legislature

  1. Courthouse In Kansas City Closed Until Feb. 19
    The Jackson County Courthouse in downtown Kansas City is undergoing repairs following a water line break and will remain closed until Tuesday, Feb. 19. The Historic Truman Courthouse and Eastern Jackson County Courthouse, both located in Independence, are open for business. > MORE DETAILS

    Circuit Court Changes Locations Of Some Hearings
    The Jackson County Circuit Court is making adjustments to insure that the Court can operate as effectively as possible while the courthouse in Kansas City is closed. > MORE DETAILS

    All County Offices Will Be Closed For Presidents' Day Feb. 18
    All Jackson County offices and courthouses will be closed Monday, Feb. 18 in observance of Presidents' Day.


The County Legislature is responsible for all legislative duties in the County, including the introduction and enaction of all County resolutions. They are also responsible for the introduction and enaction of all County ordinances subject to the approval or veto of the County Executive. A veto by the Executive can be overridden by six votes of the Legislature.


Six County Legislators are elected from six local districts of similar size, each representing about 1/6 of the County’s constituents. Three County Legislators are elected from three "at-large" districts of similar size. Every citizen in Jackson County is there-by represented by two County Legislators. View the individual Legislator's page for more details, including contact information.


The County Legislature meets once a week, alternating between the Courthouse in Kansas City and the Eastern Jackson County Courthouse in Independence.
Theresa Galvin

2019 Legislative Chair

Theresa Galvin
(6th District)
Jackson County Legislator Ron Finley
(2nd District)
Jackson County Legislator Jalen Anderson
(1st District At-Large)
Dan Tarwater

2019 Legislative Vice Chair

Dan Tarwater III
(4th District)
Jackson County Legislator Charlie Franklin
(3rd District)
Crystal Williams
(2nd District At-Large)
Scott Burnett
(1st District)

Jackson County Legislator Jeanie Lauer
(5th District)
Tony Miller
(3rd District At-Large)