Stormwater Commission


To develop recommendations, provide advice to the County Executive and Legislature, and coordinate efforts on stormwater management issues and projects through the County.


  • The Commission consists of participating members and ex-officio members.
  • The County Executive appoints 12 voting members.
  • At least 1 participating member must reside in each of the following water sheds:
    • Mill Creek
    • Fire Prairie Creek
    • Little Blue River
    • Sni-A-Bar Creek
  • The County Executive appoints the chairperson.
  • The County Executive must seek out and give due consideration to the nominees suggested by the governing bodies of the cities in the County.
  • The County Executive must strive to ensure the commission's membership is representative of Big Creek, West Brand and Sibley West.
  • Ex-officio nonvoting members are appointed from the governing bodies of the following counties:
    • Wyandotte County (Kansas)
    • Johnson County (Kansas)
    • Cass County (Missouri)
    • Clay County (Missouri)
    • Lafayette County (Missouri)
  • The Missouri Departments of Natural Resources and Transportation, as well as the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) are each entitled to appoint a representative to serve ex officio.