Public Employee Recognition Day

Jackson County joined the Federal Executive Board and the city of Kansas City to recognize public servants during the 26th Annual Public Employees Recognition Day Awards Ceremony.

The county honored 25 associates with 12 awards during the May 7th ceremony. County Executive Frank White, Jr., presented the awards along with Chief Administrative Officer Ed Stoll.

In honoring the recipients White said, “Every day, you come ready to do your job. You overcome challenges through patience, leadership, empathy and commitment. Without you we wouldn’t be successful. You are the glue that keeps things together, and I am deeply grateful for your service, dedication and innovation as we continue to make things happen in Jackson County.”

Those awarded by the county were:

  • Ozondu Ugbaja – Distinguished Administrative/Professional Service Award
  • Brian Hearn – Distinguished Clerical Service Award
  • Henry Uti – Distinguished Community Service Award
  • Raashid Brown – Distinguished Diversity Award
  • Matt Davis – Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Jay Haden – Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Lavonte Hickman – Distinguished Military/Military Support Award
  • Sgt. Lorraine Arter – Distinguished Public Safety Award
  • Parks + Rec Department, Parks Maintenance Division – Distinguished Team Award
  • Vickie Mattox – Distinguished Technical Award
  • Richard Clark – Distinguished Trade/Craft Service Award
  • Lt. Elmer Grayson and Capt. Terry Pittman – Distinguished Valor Award