Loading

 

 

 
jacksongov.org/sheriff
Sheriff Headquarters
3310 NE Rennau Drive
Lee's Summit, MO 64064
Phone: (816) 524-4302
Fax: (816) 524-4340
Email The Sheriff

QUICK LINKS
Conceal Carry Permits

COMBAT

County Code

County Department
of Corrections

Divisions
Courthouse Security
Investigations
Mounted Posse
Patrol
Reserve
Staff Services
Warrant

jacksongov.org

Jackson County
Traffic Safety
Task Force
 
 Task Force History
 Participating Members 

Jury Duty

Municipal Court
Court Fine Schedule

16th Circuit Court

Prosecutor

Sex Offender Registry

     

Staff Services Division
Conceal Carry Permits (CCP)

ATTENTION: 

Due to a recent increase in applications and/or renewals, 

YOU ARE URGED TO CALL AT LEAST 60 DAYS IN ADVANCE.

 To Make An Appointment:    

All calls are taken Monday - Friday between 8 am-12 pm and 1-5 p.m. (excluding holidays).                       (816) 524-4302
Dial "0" for an operator.

Where To Go For Permits:
Jackson County Sheriff Headquarters
3310 NE Rennau Drive
Lee's Summit, Missouri 64064

Appointment Hours:(Effective October 20, 2014):

Mondays: 8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesdays: 8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Wednesdays: 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Fridays: 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

To apply for a NEW Concealed Carry Permit (CCP), RENEW a CCP,  or to PICK UP a CCP you must first schedule an appointment. 

 To Apply for a NEW CCP:

Applicants must provide the following at the time of processing:

1. Valid photo ID-state issued driver’s license, a state issued non-driver’s license ID or a military identification and orders showing the person being stationed in Missouri.

2.  Birth certificate, valid passport, citizenship papers or permanent residency card.

3. Proof of residency—utility bill, Jackson County tax bill, Jackson County voter card, pay check stub, bank statement, deed/lease or rental agreement.

4. Missouri Instructor Qualification Form-the instructor will provide you with this.

5. Personal check, cashier’s check, or money order made payable to the MSHP in the amount of  $30.50.

6. Personal check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the JC Sheriff’s Office in the amount of  $69.50 (effective 01/01/2014).

To RENEW your CCP Permit:

All applications will be processed by appointment only, and renewal appointments must be made at least 30 days prior to expiration.

Applicants must provide the following at the time of processing:

1. Conceal Carry Card (this can be on your state issued driver’s license or non-driver ID or the new Conceal Carry Permit that was issued by the Sheriff’s Office).

2. Proof of residency—utility bill, Jackson County tax bill, Jackson County voter card, pay check stub, bank statement, deed/lease or rental agreement.

3. A personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the Jackson County, Missouri Sheriff’s Office in the amount of $50.00.

A brief background check will be performed, a new application will be filled out, and if everything is approved, the renewal will be issued that day.

Pursuant to Missouri Law, there is a $10.00 late penalty fee assessed for each month the permit is not renewed, up to six months. After six months, the permit is invalid, and the holder must begin the application process over again.

To CHANGE your ADDRESS or NAME or

REPLACE a Lost or Stolen CCP:

Pursuant to RSMo § 571.101 to 571.121:

  • Upon changing his or her permanent residence to a location outside the county of permit issuance, the permit holder must notify the sheriff of the new jurisdiction of their change of residence within thirty (30) days.  In Jackson County, the permit holder must make an appointment and shall be required to furnish proof of their residency to the sheriff. 
  • Upon changing his or her name, the permit holder must notify the sheriff within thirty (30) days and shall be required to furnish proof and obtain a new concealed carry permit.
  • Upon the loss or theft of a CCP cardpermit holders must notify the sheriff within seven (7) days and shall be required to complete a statement and obtain a new concealed carry permit.

To do the above, the permit holder must make an appointment and shall be required to furnish proof to the sheriff before being issued a new concealed carry permit. 

There will be a processing fee of $10.00 to make an address or name change or to replace a lost or stolen card.  In addition, there will be a late penalty of $10.00 per month for each month, up to six months, for the failure to notify the sheriff of the change of name or address within thirty days. 

NOTE:

All processing fees are non-refundable, and no cash or credit cards will be accepted. Those individuals not providing all of the required documents will be denied from processing and must make another appointment to be processed.

Expiration:  Pursuant to SB 656, any Concealed Carry Permit issued on or after October 10, 2014 is valid for five (5) years each.  All permits issued prior to are valid for three (s) years.

CCP Instructors:

Any qualified firearms safety instructor may choose to submit his/her information to be added to the MOSMART Data Base of qualified instructors.  To do so, they must be approved by the Sheriff's Office of the county in which they reside and pay an annual registration fee of $10.00 (payable by check, money order, or cashier’s check).  For a list of the requirements, see the Instructor Approval Requirements.

For any further information, please contact a member of our staff at:  ccp@jacksongov.org (preferred method) or by calling 816-524-4302 and pressing "0" for the operator. 

     

                 
red_spacer

Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us | © 2008 Jackson County, Missouri

Translate this page: