. .

About Us

The Public Works division encompasses six lines of business: Administration, Development, Engineering, Environmental Health, Road and Bridge Maintenance and Facilities Management. Major responsibilities include project engineering and construction administration, building maintenance and repair, road and bridge repair, snow removal, planning, building permits, code enforcement, animal control, nuisance abatement, stormwater and environmental services including food inspection and sanitary sewer operation.

  Earl Newill
Earl Newill, P.E.,
Deputy Director of Public Works,
Chief Engineer

Phone: (816) 881-4538
E-mail:
enewill@jacksongov.org
  Administration - Gwen Cogshell
Gwen Cogshell,
Operations Administrator
Administration

Phone: (816) 881-4449
E-mail:
gcogshell@jacksongov.org
 
  Planning & Environmental Health - Scott George
Scott George,
Administrator
Special Projects,
Planning & Environmental Health


Phone: (816) 881-4645
E-mail:
sgeorge@jacksongov.org
  Facilities Management - Craig Mosher
Craig Mosher,
Administrator
Facilities Management & Road and Bridge

Phone: (816) 881-7050
E-mail:
cmosher@jacksongov.org

 

Administration

Administration provides administrative support for all the divisions within Public Works, including technical support.

Office: (816) 881-4449

Name Title Phone E-mail
Schall, P.E., Larry J. Director (816) 881-4496 lschall@jacksongov.org
Cogshell, Gwendolyn Operations Administrator (816) 881-4449 gcogshell@jacksongov.org
Dickey, Joan Communications Liaison (816) 881-4533 jdickey@jacksongov.org
Roohanirad, Ali Traffic / Maintenance Engineer (816) 847-7054 aroohanirad@jacksongov.org

 

Board of Zoning Adjustment

Meets at:
Independence City Hall
Conference Room D, Ground Floor
111 East Maple
Independence, MO 64050

> More Information

 

Engineering

The Engineering Division of the Department of Public Works provides engineering design and construction management for road and bridge replacement projects throughout Jackson County. The Road and Bridge Tax Fund, augmented with grants from the State and Federal government, is used to fund these programs.

Office: (816) 881-4447

Name Title Phone E-mail
Newill, Earl Deputy Director of Public Works, Chief Engineer (816) 881-4538 enewill@jacksongov.org
Allen II, Ben Utilities / Construction Inspector (816) 847-7074 ballen@jacksongov.org
Dvorak, Glen Civil Engineer I (816) 881-4499 gdvorak@jacksongov.org
Hawley, Fred Right Of Way Specialist (816) 881-4491 fhawley@jacksongov.org
Jenkins, Chris Civil Engineer I (816) 881-4429 cjenkins@jacksongov.org
Jones, Lyle Project / Quality Control Inspector (816) 847-7057 ljones@jacksongov.org
McClernon, John Civil Engineer I (816) 881-4532 jmcclernon@jacksongov.org
Poe, Martha Administrative Assistant (816) 881-4447 mpoe@jacksongov.org
Russell, Gary Building Inspector / Engineering Technician (816) 881-4639 grussell@jacksongov.org
Seidelman, Rodger Professional Engineer (816) 847-7055 rseidelman@jacksongov.org

 

Facilities Management

The Facilities Administrator is responsible for Jackson County's buildings, physical facilities and equipment. The Facilities Management Department is comprised of building repairers, operating engineers, plumbers, carpenters, painters, electricians, maintenance workers and supervisors all working together to make sure these buildings are safe and in good working order.

Office: (816) 881-3258

Name Title Phone E-mail
Mosher, Craig Facilities Management Administrator (816) 881-7050 cmosher@jacksongov.org
Hayes, Gary Building Superintendent (816) 881-1615 ghayes@jacksongov.org
Scothorne, Marilyn Office Administrator (816) 881-3258 mscothorne@jacksongov.org

 

Planning & Environmental Health

Administrator: Scott George

Phone: (816) 881-4645
E-mail: sgeorge@jacksongov.org

 

Environmental Health

Environmental Health is responsible for permitting and inspecting the food establishments in the unincorporated area and those cities not in the corporate limits of Kansas City and Independence. They work with food establishments to ensure that employees that prepare, handle and dispense food receive training in safe and proper procedures for the handling of food so that food borne illnesses can be prevented. Jackson County offers an online food handler training course and also partners with the City of Independence for classroom food handler training. Environmental Health is also responsible for animal control and protection and overall code enforcement and nuisance compliance.

Office: (816) 881-4634

Name Title Phone E-mail
Sees, Debbie Public Health Supervisor (816) 881-4472 dsees@jacksongov.org
Burch, Amanda Public Health Specialist (816) 881-4455 aburch@jacksongov.org
Crockett, Mose Public Health Specialist (816) 881-4471 mcrockett@jacksongov.org
Harmon, Roger Public Health Specialist (816) 881-4576 rharmon@jacksongov.org
Lackey, Ainsley Public Health Specialist II (816) 881-4566 alackey@jacksongov.org
McGrath, Wayne Public Health Specialist II (816) 881-4415 wmcgrath@jacksongov.org
Moore, Kerri Administrative Assistant (816) 881-4634 kmoore@jacksongov.org
Rampersaud, Reshana Public Health Specialist (816) 881-4463 rrampersaud@jacksongov.org
Schnell, Steve Code Enforcement Officer (816) 881-4515 sschnell@jacksongov.org

 

Planning and Development

The Planning and Development Division is responsible for the administration and enforcement of planning, zoning and development, waste water quality control, flood plain management, building codes, and stormwater management in unincorporated Jackson County.

Office: (816) 881-4649

Name Title Phone E-mail
Diehl, Randy Subdivision & Zoning Coordinator (816) 881-4577 rdiehl@jacksongov.org
Schnell, Steve On-Site Wastewater Specialist (816) 881-4515 sschnell@jacksongov.org
Southard, Marlon Building Official (816) 881-4409 msouthard@jacksongov.org

 

Plan Commission

Meets at:
Independence City Hall
Conference Room D, Ground Floor
111 East Maple
Independence, MO 64050

> More Information

 

Road and Bridge

The responsibility of the Road and Bridge Maintenance Division is to maintain a safe and effective roadway system for the motorists in the unincorporated parts of Jackson County.

Office: (816) 847-7050

Name Title Phone E-mail
Evans, Jim Road & Bridge Administrator (816) 847-7053 jevans@jacksongov.org
Phillips, Kirk Highway Maintenance Supervisor (816) 847-7052 kphillips@jacksongov.org
Willier, Matt Information Technology Specialist (816) 847-7083 mwillier@jacksongov.org

 

Stormwater Commission

Meets at:
Fleming Hall
21906 Woods Chapel Road
Blue Springs, MO 64015

> More Information

 
Top of Page