How To File A Complaint & The
Complaint Process


      Ethics, Human Relations
& Citizen Complaints Commission


The revised Jackson County Charter that voters approved in August of 2010 requires forming the Ethics, Human Relations & Citizen Complaints Commission.


  • Seven members.

  • All must be residents of Jackson County (for at least three years).

  • At least one member from each of the six Jackson County Legislative districts, with no more than two from any one district.



Howard LotvenCommissioner Howard Lotven

Mr. Howard L. Lotven is a well-known Attorney in the Kansas City area. A graduate of UMKC Law School, Mr. Lotven is a member of numerous organizations, including the Kansas City Bar Association’s Municipal Court Committee and the Family Law Committee, and is a CASA Volunteer Attorney. CASA named Lotven Attorney of the Year in 2002. Lovten is also the City Judge for the Townships of Napoleon and Lake Lafayette. As if he has more than 24 hours in his day, he also lends his expertise and time to a number of diverse civic and charitable organizations. He is a member of The Hyde Park Neighborhood Association, Heart of America Stand Down (U.S. Veteran’s Assistance Program Municipal Court Defense Attorney-Volunteer), a Heartland United Way Volunteer, and he has been a member of the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum since 2002.

Rafaela GarciaCommissioner Rafaela Garcia

Lali Garcia has long been an activist in the Latino community and her lengthy list of awards is a testament to her commitment. Garcia has been honored with/ received/been the recipient of the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Humanitarian of the year award, the Pat Rios award, which was given to her by the Guadalupe Center, The MANA Community Service Award and has been listed in Ingram's magazine as one of KC's Local Heroes. Garcia's personal mission statement is "To make a better life for the Hispanic Community through my involvement in various organizations". It is clear that Garcia lives out this mantra by being on the Board of Directors of Guadalupe Center, the Hispanic Economic Development Corporation, and The Port Authority. Garcia is a member of numerous civic organizations where she also lends her fiery spirit and common sense approach to issues.

Rosemary LoweCommissioner Rosemary Lowe

Mrs. Rosemary Lowe, is a community and neighborhood activist who is known as tireless advocate. Known for speaking her mind, "Mother Lowe" as she is affectionately called, is respected by law enforcement, dignitaries', politicians and the community at large. Lowe has been able to present comprehensive strategic plans, which have resulted in drug dealers voluntarily cutting weeds and picking up trash in their community. These same well thought out plans have enabled police officers and neighborhood residents in developing safe, economically sound, viable communities. A native of Arkansas, Lowe has numerous awards from various organizations, which stands as a testimony to her commitment to her Kansas City. At an age when most people want to sit and talk about the good ol' days, Lowe's indefatigable spirit makes her talk about the future, and when she talks-people listen.

Keith CurnuttCommissioner Keith Curnutt

A proud resident of Independence, Curnutt is a graduate of Central Misouri State University where he received a degree in business.

A Stock broker by trade, Curnutt is also an entrepreneur.

Curnutt has been married to his lovely wife for 46 years They have 2 children and four grandchildren.


Jabbar WesleyCommissioner Jabbar Wesley

Jabbar Wesley is the Founder of the Novel City Chamber of Innovation a dba of United Races of America which is a community economic development organization focused on maximizing the value of unified diversity through community events, education resource development services and business incubation and consulting.  Jabbar is also the founder/ organizer of the Novel Day Innovation Showcase which is an innovative event that brings together quaternary sector experts, large corporations such as Google and Cerner as well as mid-size and startup businesses and innovators who participate in a fast-paced event format to showcase expertise and the latest and greatest innovations. 

Jabbar's corporate background is rooted in the natural gas industry holding a position as the Economic Development and Residential Representative with Missouri Gas Energy.   Jabbar has been a major part in developing and maintaining effective working relationships with 155 cities as well as local, county, state and federal economic development organizations, architects and real-estate developers. Jabbar also plays an important role in major business attraction projects for large commercial, industrial and residential projects that require $500,000-$1.5 billion in capital investment. 

Jabbar holds a degree in Economics from the University of Missouri's College of Arts and Sciences in Kansas City and has studied Leading Innovation and Change at Robert Kennedy College, Zurich, Switzerland. 

Randall VestCommissioner Randall Vest

Mr. Vest holds a B.S.in Civil Engineering from the University of Missouri at Rolla. He worked for the Water Department in Independence Missouri for 38 years serving as Department Director 1989 to retirement in 2003. Vest is past chair of Missouri Section of the American Water Works Association and currently serves on the boards of several community organizations as well as the Independence Public Utility Advisory Board.

He has been married to his wife Kathleen for 49 years, has 2 sons and 3 grandchildren.

Roger DavisCommissioner Roger Davis

Mr. Davis holds a B.S. from the University of Denver. While a resident of Denver Davis served as Chairman of the Mayors Citizen's Budget Advisory Committee. When he relocated to Charleston West Virginia, Davis continued to serve the community as member of the State Citizen Advisory Commission for Public Welfare.

A Captain in the United States Coast Guard (Retired) Davis currently serves on numerous boards and committees of charitable organizations in the metro area, which support youth programs.




Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us | © 2015 Jackson County, Missouri

Translate this page: