Voting is currently underway through noon on Saturday, October 26! Winner will be announced Saturday at 1:30 p.m. on the steps of the Jackson County Historic Truman Courthouse (on Lexington Street).

Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders and nine of the county’s mayors have their knives out. They’re carving Jack O’lanterns to support local charity through the Pumpkin Playoffs, an annual pumpkin carving contest.

Their decorated/carved pumpkins will be on display at the Jackson County Historic Truman Courthouse on Independence Square starting Tuesday, October 22. Voting to select the public’s favorite pumpkin will begin that Tuesday at noon and conclude four days later at noon on Saturday, October 26.

“Local charities will be the ultimate winners of this contest,” Sanders emphasized.

Citizens can cast their “votes” by checking their favorite entry on donation envelopes and dropping the envelopes, with their monetary donations, into a locked ballot box. The ballot box and pumpkins will be displayed in the Jackson County Historic Truman Courthouse’s first-floor lobby.

Each pumpkin is to symbolize the community that each elected official serves. The winning entry will be the one with the most funds collected. All the money collected for each pumpkin will be donated to the charity associated with that pumpkin.

“This is most definitely a friendly competition,” said Sanders. “The mayors and I each get to partake in a Halloween tradition that dates back to the mid-1800s, while at the same time raising money for charities that make a real difference in our area. I’m grateful so many of the mayors have chosen to participate.”

The Pumpkin Playoffs participants and their charities:

  • Jackson County, County Executive Mike Sanders - Children’s Center for the Visually Impaired
  • Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross - Community Services League of Blue Springs
  • Grain Valley Mayor Mike Todd - Grain Valley Holiday Senior Baskets
  • Grandview Mayor Steve Dennis - Grandview Assistance Program
  • Independence Mayor Don Reimal - Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Kansas City (Independence Unit)
  • Kansas City Mayor Sly James - Turn the Page KC
  • Lee’s Summit Mayor Randy Rhoads - One Good Meal
  • Oak Grove Mayor Mark Fulks - Community Services League of Oak Grove
  • Raytown Mayor David Bower - Raytown Three Trails Kiwanis
  • Sugar Creek Mayor Matt Mallinson - Sugar Creek Citizens Civic Relief Commission




View The Entries

CLICK on each image to see an enlarged view of the pumpkin(s).

Jackson County Executive
Mike Sanders

Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross

Grain Valley Mayor Mike Todd

Grandview Mayor Steve Dennis

Independence Mayor Don Reimal

Kansas City Mayor Sly James

Lee's Summit Mayor
Randy Rhoads

Oak Grove Mayor Mark Fulks

Raytown Mayor David Bower

Sugar Creek Mayor Matt Mallinson




Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us | © 2015 Jackson County, Missouri

Translate this page: