Jackson County Reapportionment Committee
Approves New Legislative Districts

May 20, 2011 (KANSAS CITY, MO) – The committee appointed to reapportion the Jackson County Legislative districts has approved new boundaries for future elections. The new maps were approved during a public meeting Thursday afternoon. 

The maps have been forwarded to County Executive Mike Sanders, the Clerk of the County Legislature and election boards within the county. 

The new maps will be presented to the Jackson County Legislature at their regular weekly meeting on Monday, May 23, 2011. The meeting begins at 2:30 P.M. at the Independence, Missouri Courthouse Annex (308 West Kansas Avenue, Independence, Missouri).

The committee had until June 13 to finalize the new legislative districts. The districts will take effect during the next general election in 2012. The next elections for the Jackson County Legislature will take place in 2014.

The committee was named last month by County Executive Sanders. Pursuant to the Jackson County Charter, a reapportionment committee must be formed every ten years to redraw county legislative districts after updated United States Census data becomes available. 

Members of the Reapportionment Committee: 

● Sara (Sally) Miller – District 1 (Republican)

● Ed Pendleton – District 2 (Democrat)

● Keith Querry – District 3 (Democrat)

● Tom Wyrsch – District 4 (Democrat)

● Gary Dusenberg – District 5 (Republican)

● David Stackelhouse – District 6 (Republican)


NEWS RELEASE ARCHIVES | jacksongov.org