Jackson County Executive Appoints Children’s Services Fund Board of Directors

Jackson County Executive Frank White, Jr. issued an Executive Order appointing the first board of directors of the Jackson County’s Community Children’s Services Fund. 

  • Brian Kaberline
  • The Honorable Ann Mesle
  • Dr. Dred D. Scott, Ed.D.
  • Jovanna Rohs, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Luis M. Cordoba, Ed.D.
  • Rachelle Styles
  • Rhonda Holman
  • Dr. Robert Bartman, Ed.D.
  • Marietta Parker, J.D.
The Board of Directors will oversee revenues and administrate funds from the Children’s Services Fund. The fund, which was approved by voters Nov. 8, will support social service agencies that help youths in need 19 years old and younger.

The board will oversee the distribution of the approximately $15 million expected to be generated annually by the one-eighth cent sales tax approved by voters.

White said, “I am proud that Jackson County citizens overwhelmingly voted for the Children’s Services Fund in November and today it is my pleasure to announce the nine talented and experienced individuals that will make up the board of directors. The board is made up of strong leaders that represent the six districts in Jackson County. I couldn’t be more pleased with these appointments. Each of these individuals’ deep professional background and passionate commitment to helping children will bring insightful perspectives to this board.”

White also thanked the three community leaders he named to assist him with selecting the board. “I could not be more appreciative of the time and assistance that Dr. Susan Wilson, John Bluford and Steve Roling offered me in this process. I would also like to thank the legislature for their leadership and support of the fund.” 

The funds raised within Jackson County will stay in Jackson County. They’ll go to support programs and services that will benefit tens of thousands of children who are homeless, experiencing domestic violence, in foster care or suffering from abuse and neglect.

According to the Children’s Services Fund Coalition, investing in these services ultimately saves money. For every $1 invested in prevention, an estimated $11 is saved that would have been spent on substance abuse treatment, lost wages and criminal justice system costs. 

Seven other counties in Missouri have passed a sales tax initiative establishing a Children’s Services Fund, and the funds are supporting an array of services that are making a positive impact, including reducing child abuse and neglect, helping families regain housing and stability, and other positive outcomes enabling children and youth to become productive members of their community.

Children’s Services Fund Board

Brian Kaberline
Editor for the Kansas City Business Journal and former reporter for the Independence Examiner with 29 years’ experience in journalism. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism from the University of Kansas. He is a youth soccer coach and is involved with the Big Brothers Big Sisters Scholar Program. Currently lives in Lee’s Summit.

The Honorable Ann Mesle 
A retired judge with 13 years of experience on the bench. She graduated from the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School in 1972 and worked as an attorney until being appointed as circuit judge in 2000. She has served on the Health Care Foundation Board, Park University Board and Starr Education Fund Board. Currently lives in Kansas City.

Dr. Dred D. Scott, Ed.D.
Deputy Superintendent for the Independence School District since 2008.  He oversees the district’s early education programs providing direction in curriculum instruction and assessment.  Dr. Scott is a former elementary school teacher and principal in the Raytown School District. He is a member of the Community Services League Board, Drumm Farm Board, TMC Joint Conference and Quality Committee and a member of Rotary. Currently lives in Independence.

Dr. Jovanna Rohs, Ph.D.
Director of Early Learning for MARC she has a Ph.D., in Education and Urban Leadership and Policy Studies in Education from University of Missouri-Kansas City, M.A. Curriculum and Instruction with an Early Childhood Emphasis from University of Missouri-Kansas City and a B.S. in Early Childhood Special Education and Elementary Education from Central Missouri. She is on the Children’s Place Board and Missouri Headstart. Currently lives in Oak Grove.

Dr. Luis M. Cordoba, Ed.D
Executive Director of Student Intervention Programs for Kansas City Public Schools and licensed addiction counselor. He joined the district in February 2010. He was born in Mexico and raised in Los Angeles. He is a former California Highway Patrol Officer and retired from the Kansas City Police Department. He is on the KCMO Health Commission and Healthy KC Steering Commission. Currently lives in Independence.

Rachelle Styles
CPA and owner of Styles Accounting LLC and a graduate of the University of Missouri. She is a graduate of the KC Chamber Centurion program. She Serves on the Reach Foundation Board, Missouri Society of CPAs and is a volunteer at Summit Christian Academy. Currently lives in Lee’s Summit.

Rhonda Holman
Former Vice President of the Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City and retired grant writer for Kauffman. She has served on the HMIS Continuum of Care Board, HUD Homeless Service Fund, Jackson County Housing Resources Commission and the Black Community Fund Board. Currently lives in Kansas City.

Dr. Robert Bartman, Ed.D.
Coordinator of Education Policy Fellowship for LINC. He was Superintendent of Center School District for 10 years and Commissioner of Education for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for Missouri. He is also a former Marine. He has a Bachelor’s degree and Doctorate of Education in Education Administration from the University of Missouri. He has served on the board for Turning the Page KC. Currently lives in Kansas City.

Marietta Parker, J.D.
Former federal prosecutor for the US Attorney’s Office and Jackson County Assistant Prosecutor. She graduated from University of Missouri-Kansas City with a degree in Business Administration. She did her post graduate at University of Missouri-Kansas City and graduated with a Juris Doctor Degree. She has served on the Amethyst Place Board and the Samaritan Project Board. Currently lives in Kansas City.