2017 Meeting Schedule

Updated November 8, 2016

The Jackson County Legislature is required to hold at least 48 regular meetings each year as stated in the Constitutional Home Rule Charter of Jackson County, Missouri.

Kansas City Meetings


  • 2:30 p.m.
  • 1st, 3rd and 5th Monday of the month
  • Jackson County Courthouse
    415 E 12th Street
    2nd Floor, in the Legislative Assembly Area
    Kansas City, MO 64106

Independence City Meetings


  • 2:30 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Monday of the month (All meetings in September of 2016 will be held in Kansas City.)
  • Eastern Jackson County Courthouse
    308 W Kansas
    Ground Floor, in the Legislative Chambers
    Independence, MO 64050
Note: The Legislative meetings are usually held at 2:30 p.m. on Monday unless it is necessary to change it due to holiday or scheduling conflicts.

Holidays


The Legislature normally does not meet the weeks of Memorial Day (May) or Labor Day (September).

Open to Public


All meetings are open to the public.

Meeting Dates


Number
2017 Meeting Dates
Location
1. Tuesday, January 3, 2017
(New Year's Day will be observed Monday, January 2) 
Kansas City
2. Monday, January 9, 2017 Independence
3. Tuesday, January 17, 2017
(Monday, January 16 -- Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
Kansas City
4. Monday, January 23, 2017 Independence
5. Monday, January 30, 2017 Kansas City
6. Monday, February 6, 2017 Kansas City
7. Monday, February 13, 2017  Independence 

Monday, February 20, 2017 -- No Meeting (Presidents Day)
8. Monday, February 27, 2017 Independence
9. Monday, March 6, 2017 Kansas City
10. Monday, March 13, 2017 Independence
11. Monday, March 20, 2017 Kansas City
12. Monday, March 27, 2017 Independence
13. Monday, April 3, 2017 Kansas City
14. Monday, April 10, 2017 Independence
15. Monday, April 17, 2017 Kansas City
16. Monday, April 24, 2017 Independence
17. Monday, May 1, 2017 Kansas City
18. Tuesday, May 9, 2017
(Monday, May 8 -- Truman's Birthday)
Independence
19. Monday, May 15, 2017 Kansas City
20. Monday, May 22, 2017 Independence

Monday, May 29, 2107 -- No Meeting (Memorial Day) No Meeting
21 Monday, June 5, 2017 Kansas City
22. Monday, June 12, 2017 Independence
23. Monday, June 19, 2017 Kansas City
24. Monday, June 26, 2017 Independence
25. Monday, July 3, 2017
Kansas City
26. Monday, July 10, 2017 Independence
27. Monday, July 17, 2017 Kansas City
28. Monday, July 24, 2017 Independence
29. Monday, July 31, 2017 Kansas City
30. Monday, August 7, 2017 Kansas City
31. Monday, August 14, 2017 Independence
32. Monday, August 21, 2017 Kansas City
33.  Monday, August 28, 2017  Independence 
34. Tuesday, September 5, 2017
(Monday, September 4 -- Labor Day)
Kansas City
35. Monday, September 11, 2017 Kansas City
36. Monday, September 18, 2017 Kansas City
37. Monday, September 25, 2017 Kansas City
38. Monday, October 2, 2017 Kansas City
39. Monday, October 9, 2017 Independence
40. Monday, October 16, 2017 Kansas City
41. Monday, October 23, 2017 Independence
42. Monday, October 30, 2017 Kansas City
43. Monday November 6, 2017 Kansas City
44. Monday, November 13, 2017 Independence
45. Monday, November 20, 2017 Kansas City
46. Monday, November 27, 2017 Independence 
47. Monday, December 4, 2017 Kansas City 
48.  Monday, December 11, 2017 Independence