Assessment Notices

There are approximately 296,000 real estate parcels in Jackson County, Missouri. Since 1985, State law has required counties to reassess real estate property every 2 years (in odd-numbered years, e.g. 2013, 2015, etc.), based upon fair market value - the price a willing buyer will pay a willing seller. State-mandated reassessment covers all real estate property (residential, agricultural, and commercial) in Jackson County. In a reassessment year, all property owners will receive a notice, even if their values did not change.

An assessment notice is not a tax bill and does not set your taxes; it assigns an estimated value to your property. While a higher value can eventually lead to a higher property tax bill, most jurisdictions are required to use a "rollback" that protects taxpayers from steep increases due to reappraisal in a single year. Jackson County has such a mandatory rollback. Local governments such as school districts, cities, and counties each set their own levies. Most are subject to the rollback. The main exception is the Kansas City School District which was made exempt to the rollback by constitutional amendment. The exact impact upon your individual tax bill can not be calculated until this fall when state and local governments set their levies.

The actual tax levies will be set this fall by your local school boards, city councils, water districts, fire districts, library districts, the County Legislature, and other district boards. Your real property tax bill will be calculated based on the following general formula:
  • Market Value x Classification Percentage* = Assessed Value
  • Assessed Value / 100 x Total Levy = Tax
*The percentage is based on the classification. The percentages are:
  • Residential - 19%
  • Agricultural - 12%
  • Commercial and All Other - 32%
Board of Equalization (BOE) Appeals
For more information about Board of Equalization formal appeal policies and procedures, please visit the BOE webpage.